

## City of Milwaukee

200 E. Wells Street Milwaukee, Wisconsin 53202

## **Department Details**

Department name: SAFETY AND CIVIC COMMISSION

Type: Board or Commission

Meeting time:

Meeting location:

Primary contact:

Description:

**PURPOSE:** It shall be the duty of the safety and civic commission to investigate, advise and report to the mayor, common council, police department, and commissioner of public works, and other city officials concerning the best methods of providing for the safety and convenience of the public in addressing civic matters of city-wide concern and to give the greatest possible publicity to these matters to educate the public in safety precautions. The goal of the safety and civic commission shall be to improve the quality of life in Milwaukee by improving safety and addressing citywide problems through effective, targeted public education and public information efforts to achieve behavior modification to lift the community as a whole. The matters under the review of the commission shall include, but not be limited to, traffic safety for motor vehicles, pedestrians, and bicycles, reducing the demand for drugs, raising educational achievement, raising school attendance and graduation rates, addressing parenting, reducing littering, water safety, fire safety, firearm safety, accidental poisoning, and other such topics that affect the health of the city.

**COMPOSITION:** There is created a safety and civic commission comprised of the following, all of whom shall live in the city and shall not be city employees: a. Three members appointed by the mayor, subject to confirmation by the common council. These members shall be appointed to a three-year term. b. Fifteen members, one appointed by the alderman or alderwoman of each aldermanic district, subject to confirmation by the common council. Initially, members from districts 1 through 3 shall be appointed to a three-year term; members from districts 4 through 9 shall be appointed to a two-year term; and members from districts 10 through 15 shall be appointed to a one-year term. Subsequent appointments and reappointments shall be for three-year terms.

A member continues to serve after the completion of his or her term until reappointed or until a successor has been appointed.

Due to the nature of the business conducted by this body, members are required to file a Statement of Economic Interests with the Board of Ethics.

**CREATING AUTHORITY:** Section 320-27 of the Milwaukee Code of Ordinances, File Number 161349.

**SALARY:** 

**STAFFING:** Police Safety Academy, 935-7990

## **LAST UPDATED:** June 7, 2019

Name	Title	Start Date	End Date	
VACANCY Appointed By: ALD. SPIKER	Member	4/19/2016	4/20/2020	*
Darnelle Bowles Appointed By: ALD. HAMILTO	Member DN	8/16/2017	8/16/2020	*
Marlow Davis Appointed By: ALD. JOHNSO	Member N	8/3/2017	8/3/2020	*
Angela Lang Appointed By: ALD. KOVAC	Member	10/4/2017	10/4/2020	*
Charles Elbert Fox Appointed By: ALD. BAUMAN	Member	8/7/2017	8/7/2019	*
Nicholas Roesler Appointed By: ALD. BOHL	Member	8/3/2017	8/3/2019	*
Dale Muhammad Appointed By: ALD. COGGS	Member	10/10/2017	10/10/2020	*
Solana Patterson-Ramos Appointed By: ALD. COGGS	Member	11/9/2021	11/9/2023	*
Randy Jones Appointed By: ALD. RAINEY	Member	10/18/2021	10/18/2024	*
Mary Williams Appointed By: ALD. DONOVA	Member N	8/15/2017	8/15/2019	*
Jeffery Hoover Appointed By: ALD. LEWIS	Member	9/29/2017	9/29/2019	*
Viola Hawkins Appointed By: ALD. MURPHY	Member	4/23/2019	4/23/2023	*
Lee Whiting Appointed By: ALD. BORKOV	Member VSKI	10/12/2021	10/12/2024	*
Esperanza Gutierrez Appointed By: ALD. PEREZ	Member	8/3/2017	8/3/2018	*
Ana Veloz Appointed By: ALD. ZIELINSk	Member (I	7/26/2019	7/26/2022	*
Kenneth Harris, Jr. Appointed By: ALD. STAMPE	Member R	9/27/2018	9/27/2019	*
Amanda Avalos Appointed By: Mayor Tom Ba	Member rrett	10/27/2017	10/27/2020	*
Byron Marshall, Jr.  Appointed By: Mayor Tom Ba	Member rrett	10/2/2017	10/2/2020	*
Debra Fields Appointed By: Mayor Tom Ba	Member	10/23/2017	10/23/2020	*

<sup>\*</sup> indicates extended term